Little Bits vs. Squishy Circuits

This week our class shared with each other our ideas for our maker creations. As I said in my earlier post, I struggled to figure out exactly what to make. I was curious to see if others shared my feelings or if their inspiration was immediate. What I heard from my classmates was a mixture of excitement and defeat. Honestly, this made me feel a little better about my frustration and the entire project in general. I think that sharing our feelings helped everyone in the class.

Next, we had time to collaborate, talk, and play amongst ourselves with our maker kits. Alison and I explored the Snap Circuits that we purchased at the charity shop. It was really fun! We had to use outside materials to create one of the circuits because one of the snaps had broken off one of the pieces.

IMG_1517

Photo Credit: A. Siegel

Then I started thinking about my maker project. I was talking with another classmate and they suggested using squishy circuits. When I thought about it, Squishy Circuits could offer more opportunities for my students to be involved in the maker process. I could have table groups collaborate to make a creature or structure each week using Squishy Circuits. Then, they would be more involved and have more ownership over this routine in my classroom.

So, I think I will change over to Squishy Circuits for my final product. I like the idea of having students contribute to the process.

Leave a comment